Evidence and documents in the Sharif Osman Hadi murder case
The public record behind the case: the documents, statements and evidence known to exist, who produced them, how the archive holds each one, and what each can and cannot establish.
What the archive holds
35 records are catalogued, and the archive holds a copy of none of them. 1 is an official publication linked at its address; 34 are known only from published reports.
- 35
- 1 publication
- 37 reports
- None yet
How to read this archive
This archive lists the documents, recordings, statements and other records connected to the Sharif Osman Hadi murder case: who produced each one, when, where it is known from, and how the archive holds it.
A record’s presence here does not mean that what it says is true. Each record is shown with how it is known, and with the specific claims it supports, refutes, puts in context, originates or merely mentions.
A police statement shows that police said something; a charge sheet, that a charge sheet was filed and what it alleges; footage, that footage exists. None of them, on its own, shows that what it alleges is true.
Source, evidence, claim
- Source
- The publisher or issuer a record comes from: a court, a police unit, a ministry, a newspaper.
- Evidence item
- A document, recording, statement or physical item. It may be held by the archive, linked at its original address, or known only from reports.
- Claim
- A factual or procedural statement being weighed, such as “a charge sheet was submitted on 6 January 2026”.
- Relationship
- How an item bears on a claim, in one of five words. An item can bear on several claims in different ways.
The five relationships
- Originates
- The record is where the claim was first made: a filing, an order, a statement.
- Supports
- The record, as the archive can read it, bears out the claim.
- Refutes
- The record contradicts the claim or denies it.
- Contextualizes
- The record bears on the claim without confirming or contradicting it.
- Mentions
- The record refers to the matter, but says nothing about whether the claim is true.
The catalogue at a glance
Records are grouped by what they are. Only categories with public records are listed; a category with none is not shown as empty.
Key records
The filings and orders that moved the case from one stage to the next, in date order. They are chosen for their place in the procedure, not for what they allege.
Filed
Case statement filed at Paltan Model Police StationAbdullah Al Jaber, complainant · Not acquired by this archive
Issued
Order adding section 302 of the Penal CodeCourt of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka · Not acquired by this archive
Filed
Charge sheet against 17 accusedDetective Branch, Dhaka Metropolitan Police · Not acquired by this archive
Filed
Naraji petition against the charge sheetAbdullah Al Jaber, complainant · Not acquired by this archive
Issued
Order for further investigation by the CIDCourt of the Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka · Not acquired by this archive
Court and case documents
The filings and orders of the case. Every one is known to exist from reports of it; the archive has acquired none, so none is shown, quoted or summarised beyond what the reports say.
A court record may establish that a filing or an order exists and what it says. It does not establish the truth of every allegation contained in that filing. No court document is held by the archive yet, so none of the records below is classed as a court record.
Case statement filed at Paltan Model Police Station
- Filed
- Abdullah Al Jaber, complainant
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- That a case was filed, by whom, when and under which sections, once a copy is held.
- The truth of anything the complainant alleges in it.
- A case is filed at Paltan Model Police Station (the filing itself; not held)
Order adding section 302 of the Penal Code
- Issued
- Court of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [3]
- That the court added the charge of murder to the case, and on what application.
- That a murder charge has been proven against anyone.
- The court adds the charge of murder (the order itself; not held)
Charge sheet against 17 accused
- Filed
- Detective Branch, Dhaka Metropolitan Police
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [4]
- That the police submitted a charge sheet, and whom and what it accuses.
- That any accusation in it is true; only a court at trial can decide that, and none has.
- The Detective Branch submits a charge sheet against 17 accused (the filing itself; not held)
- The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations. (sets out the accusation; does not establish it)
Naraji petition against the charge sheet
- Filed
- Abdullah Al Jaber, complainant
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- That the complainant objected to the charge sheet, and on what grounds.
- That the objection is right; the court has not ruled on the charge sheet.
- The complainant objects to the charge sheet (the petition itself; not held)
- The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations. (the complainant objected to the charge sheet as it stood)
Order for further investigation by the CID
- Issued
- Court of the Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [1]
- That the court ordered further investigation, and gave it to the CID.
- Any finding about the original investigation or about the accused.
- The court orders further investigation by the CID (the order itself; not held)
Order refusing bail to Saheda Parveen
- Issued
- High Court Division, Supreme Court of Bangladesh
- Document
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [7]
- That the High Court refused bail to one of the accused.
- Anything about her guilt; a bail decision is not a verdict.
Evidence investigators described
Footage, recovered items, forensic examinations and witness accounts that investigators said they had. None has been released, and the archive holds none of them.
That an item was recovered, that investigators say it was used in the attack, and that a forensic or documentary record links it to the attack are three different claims. A recovery is not a link, and a link stated by investigators is not a forensic finding.
CCTV footage
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- No published record — no forensic or documentary record linking these items to the attack has been published, and the archive holds none.
CCTV footage from the Inqilab Cultural Centre and the scene of the attack
- Reported
- Held by investigators, as reported
- Recording
- Not publicly available — not released in any report held
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- What the cameras recorded at those places and times, once a copy is examined with its provenance.
- Who anyone in it is, or what they intended; that police identified a suspect from it is their account, not the archive’s finding.
- Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8 (footage from the scene, not released)
The motorcycle
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- Alleged — an allegation by the Detective Branch; it has not been established.
- No published record — no forensic or documentary record linking these items to the attack has been published, and the archive holds none.
The motorcycle investigators linked to the attack
- Reported
- Not given; RAB arrested a man described as its owner, as reported
- Physical item
- Physical item — recorded from reports only
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- That investigators linked a motorcycle to the attack, as reported.
- That it was seized or examined, or how it is linked to the attack; no report held says so.
- The Detective Branch says the motorcycle used in the attack was ridden by one of the accused. (seizure and examination not reported)
Firearms
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- Alleged — an allegation by RAB and the police; it has not been established.
- No published record — no forensic or documentary record linking these items to the attack has been published, and the archive holds none.
Two pistols, magazines, a toy pistol and ammunition recovered in Narsingdi
- Recovered
- RAB
- Physical item
- Physical item — recorded from reports only
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [10]
- That RAB said it recovered these items, where and when.
- That they were used in the shooting; that needs a forensic link, and none has been published.
- RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting. (the items themselves; recorded from reports only)
Forensic reports on the firearms and bullets
- Reported
- Listed by the Detective Branch among its evidence; the examining laboratory is not named
- Document
- Not publicly available — not released in any report held
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- Whether the recovered firearms are linked to the bullets of the shooting, once published.
- Anything yet: no finding of the reports has been published.
- RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting. (listed as evidence; findings not published)
Cheque books
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- No published record — the reports held do not record what investigators say these items show.
- No published record — no forensic or documentary record linking these items to the attack has been published, and the archive holds none.
Cheque books recovered from the three people detained on 14 December 2025
- Recovered
- RAB
- Physical item
- Physical item — recorded from reports only
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- That RAB said it recovered cheque books, allegedly signed by the suspect.
- Any payment for the attack, or any amount; no report held connects the cheque books to it.
Phones and devices
- Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
- No published record — the reports held do not record what investigators say these items show.
- No published record — no forensic or documentary record linking these items to the attack has been published, and the archive holds none.
Electronic devices recovered from the three people detained on 14 December 2025
- Recovered
- RAB
- Physical item
- Physical item — recorded from reports only
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [13]
- That RAB said it recovered electronic devices.
- What is on them. The archive would not publish phone numbers, messages or locations in any case.
Forensic examination of mobile phones and electronic devices
- Reported
- Listed by the Detective Branch among its evidence
- Document
- Not publicly available — not released in any report held
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [9]
- What the examined devices contain, once a result is published.
- Anything yet: no result has been published.
Witness accounts
Accounts of the 77 witnesses listed in the charge sheet
- Filed
- Listed in the charge sheet; the witnesses are not named here
- Statement
- Not publicly available — not released in any report held
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [4]
- What each witness told investigators, once a record is held.
- That any account is accurate; a witness statement is evidence to be tested at trial, not a finding.
- Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8 (witnesses listed, accounts not held)
Statements and denials
Statements are kept apart by kind. None is quoted beyond what the reports say: the archive holds the text of none of them.
A statement recorded by a magistrate under section 164 of the Code of Criminal Procedure is a judicial record, made before a court officer. An account of interrogation reported by police or their sources is not: it is what investigators say they were told. Neither is a finding, and the archive holds the text of none of them.
Confessional statements on record, as reported
Confessional statement of Saheda Parveen
- Recorded
- Not given in the report held
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [7]
- That a statement was recorded, as reported.
- What it says, or that it is true: the record is not held, and a statement is evidence to be tested at trial.
Statement of Md Aminul Islam under section 164
- Recorded
- Metropolitan Magistrate Mohammad Ehsanul Islam, Dhaka
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [15]
- That a statement was recorded, as reported.
- What it says, or that it is true: the record is not held, and a statement is evidence to be tested at trial.
- Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it (as reported; the recorded statement is not held)
Confessional statement of Rubel Ahmed
- Recorded
- Magistrate Md Ismail, Dhaka
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [16]
- That a statement was recorded, as reported.
- What it says, or that it is true: the record is not held, and a statement is evidence to be tested at trial.
Accounts of interrogation, reported by police or their sources
Investigation sources’ account of how the weapons were moved
- Reported
- Investigation sources, to Prothom Alo
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [11]
- What police or their sources said they were told in interrogation.
- That anyone said it, or that it is true; an account of interrogation is not a statement recorded by a magistrate.
- RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting. (how the weapons were moved, and that ballistic testing would confirm the link)
Dhaka police on the source of their border account
- Reported
- Dhaka Metropolitan Police
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [17]
- What police or their sources said they were told in interrogation.
- That anyone said it, or that it is true; an account of interrogation is not a statement recorded by a magistrate.
Reported confessions during interrogation in India
- Reported
- Indian authorities, as reported by Prothom Alo
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [18]
- What police or their sources said they were told in interrogation.
- That anyone said it, or that it is true; an account of interrogation is not a statement recorded by a magistrate.
Denials
Video presented as a denial by Foysal Karim Masud
- Reported
- A video presented as a message from Foysal Karim Masud
- Recording
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [19]
- That a video presented as his denial circulated online.
- Who made it, or whether it is authentic: no source held has verified it, and the archive does not reproduce it.
- The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations. (a denial whose authenticity is not established)
Foysal Karim Masud’s denial at a court in West Bengal
- Made
- Foysal Karim Masud, at a court in West Bengal
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [18]
- That a denial of involvement was made, as reported.
- Whether the denial is true.
Official statements
What police, ministers and ministries said, each with how the archive knows it. A statement linked at its official address is classed as an official publication online; one known only from reports is not.
An official statement is evidence of what the institution said and when. It is not, by itself, evidence that what it said is true.
Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs statement on his death
- Published
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore
- Publication
- Official publication online, linked at its original address: Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs statement on his death (mfa.gov.sg). No copy is stored.
- Rights unknown — linked, not reproduced
- One published source [20]
- That Singapore’s foreign ministry announced his death, and when.
- Anything about the attack in Dhaka or who carried it out.
- Dies at Singapore General Hospital (the official announcement, linked)
RAB statement on the recovery of the firearms
- Made
- RAB
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [10]
- What RAB said it recovered, and that it said the weapons were used in the shooting.
- That the weapons were used in the shooting.
- RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting. (RAB’s statement, as reported)
Law adviser’s post on trial under the Speedy Trial Tribunal Act
- Published
- Law adviser Asif Nazrul, on Facebook, as reported
- Publication
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [21]
- That the law adviser said the trial would be held under that Act.
- That the case has been sent to a tribunal; no record of a transfer is held.
Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet
- Made
- Detective Branch: chief Md Shafiqul Islam
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [9]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
- The Detective Branch submits a charge sheet against 17 accused (the Detective Branch’s briefing on the day)
- The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations. (the police description of the alleged shooter)
- The Detective Branch says the motorcycle used in the attack was ridden by one of the accused. (the Detective Branch’s account)
Across the border
What Bangladeshi and Indian authorities said about the two men police named as the main suspects, and the later records from India. Records from both countries are catalogued the same way.
Whether two suspects crossed a border, and how, is a question of fact about their movements. It is not evidence of any government’s involvement in the attack, and none is suggested here.
The December 2025 accounts, side by side
An additional commissioner said the suspects had escaped to India and gave a timeline of the crossing. The next day the police said the information came from confessional statements of people arrested and from sources in border areas. [17]
Neither account is preferred. How the later records bear on the claim is set out under where the records conflict.
The records, in date order
Bangladesh Police: “no confirmation that he has fled abroad”
- Made
- Bangladesh Police: Additional Inspector General Khandaker Rafiqul Islam
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [22]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
Dhaka police account of the suspects’ crossing into Meghalaya
- Made
- Dhaka Metropolitan Police
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [17]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
- Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it (the Dhaka police account, as reported)
Dhaka police account of detentions in Meghalaya
- Made
- Dhaka Metropolitan Police: Additional Commissioner SN Nazrul Islam
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [23]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
- Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it (a further Dhaka police account; not confirmed by Indian authorities)
Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police response
- Made
- Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police, India
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
- Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it (the denial by India’s Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police)
West Bengal Police press release on the arrests at Bongaon
- Made
- Special Task Force, West Bengal Police
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
- Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it (the two men were in India by March 2026)
Dhaka police on learning of the arrests in India
- Made
- Dhaka Metropolitan Police
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [26]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
Bangladesh Police on seeking the two men’s handover
- Made
- Inspector General of Police, Bangladesh
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [28]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
Custody extension by a special NIA court in India, as reported
- Made
- The Sentinel, reporting a special NIA court in India
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [29]
- That the court extended the NIA’s custody of the two men, as reported.
- Anything in the Hadi murder case: proceedings in India are a separate case.
Bangladesh foreign ministry on the agreed return of the two men
- Made
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bangladesh
- Statement
- Not acquired by this archive
- Rights unknown — nothing is reproduced
- One published source [30]
- What the institution said, and when.
- That what it said is true; that is a separate claim, set out below.
Claims and their evidence
The main claims in the case, each with how it is known and the records that bear on it. The evidence word comes from the case record itself; the relationships are the archive’s.
The attack and his death
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8
- CCTV footage from the Inqilab Cultural Centre and the scene of the attack (footage from the scene, not released)
- Accounts of the 77 witnesses listed in the charge sheet (witnesses listed, accounts not held)
Official statement — stated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore.
Dies at Singapore General Hospital
- Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs statement on his death (the official announcement, linked)
- Reuters, news report [34] (as reported)
The procedure
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
A case is filed at Paltan Model Police Station
- Case statement filed at Paltan Model Police Station (the filing itself; not held)
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
The court adds the charge of murder
- Order adding section 302 of the Penal Code (the order itself; not held)
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
The Detective Branch submits a charge sheet against 17 accused
- Charge sheet against 17 accused (the filing itself; not held)
- Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet (the Detective Branch’s briefing on the day)
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
The complainant objects to the charge sheet
- Naraji petition against the charge sheet (the petition itself; not held)
Reported — published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record.
The court orders further investigation by the CID
- Order for further investigation by the CID (the order itself; not held)
- The Business Standard, news report [36] (reported that day that the order was kept pending)
What investigators allege
Alleged — an allegation by Detective Branch, Dhaka Metropolitan Police, in the charge sheet; it has not been established.
The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations.
- Charge sheet against 17 accused (sets out the accusation; does not establish it)
- Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet (the police description of the alleged shooter)
- Foysal Karim Masud’s denial at a court in West Bengal (his denial, as reported)
- Video presented as a denial by Foysal Karim Masud (a denial whose authenticity is not established)
- Naraji petition against the charge sheet (the complainant objected to the charge sheet as it stood)
Alleged — an allegation by RAB and the police; it has not been established.
RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting.
- RAB statement on the recovery of the firearms (RAB’s statement, as reported)
- Investigation sources’ account of how the weapons were moved (how the weapons were moved, and that ballistic testing would confirm the link)
- Dhaka Tribune, news report [37] (the pistol traced to an arms shop, as reported)
- Two pistols, magazines, a toy pistol and ammunition recovered in Narsingdi (the items themselves; recorded from reports only)
- Forensic reports on the firearms and bullets (listed as evidence; findings not published)
Alleged — an allegation by the Detective Branch; it has not been established.
The Detective Branch says the motorcycle used in the attack was ridden by one of the accused.
- Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet (the Detective Branch’s account)
- The motorcycle investigators linked to the attack (seizure and examination not reported)
Across the border
Disputed — the accounts conflict, and neither is preferred.
Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it
- Dhaka police account of the suspects’ crossing into Meghalaya (the Dhaka police account, as reported)
- Dhaka police account of detentions in Meghalaya (a further Dhaka police account; not confirmed by Indian authorities)
- Statement of Md Aminul Islam under section 164 (as reported; the recorded statement is not held)
- News On AIR (All India Radio), news report [27] (on the route through the Meghalaya border only; not on the timing or help)
- The Sentinel (Assam), news report [29] (on the route through the Meghalaya border only, as reported)
- Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police response (the denial by India’s Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police)
- West Bengal Police press release on the arrests at Bongaon (the two men were in India by March 2026)
Where the records conflict
Claims on which one record contradicts another. Each side is listed with its source; the archive does not choose between them.
The charge sheet accuses 17 people of involvement in the killing, and police describe Foysal Karim Masud as the alleged shooter. No court has tested these accusations.
Alleged — an allegation by Detective Branch, Dhaka Metropolitan Police, in the charge sheet; it has not been established.
Records that originate or support it
- Charge sheet against 17 accused (sets out the accusation; does not establish it)
- Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet (the police description of the alleged shooter)
Records that refute it
- Foysal Karim Masud’s denial at a court in West Bengal (his denial, as reported)
- Video presented as a denial by Foysal Karim Masud (a denial whose authenticity is not established)
Why it remains open: no court has ruled on it, and the archive holds none of the originals on either side.
Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it
Disputed — the accounts conflict, and neither is preferred.
Records that originate or support it
- Dhaka police account of the suspects’ crossing into Meghalaya (the Dhaka police account, as reported)
- Dhaka police account of detentions in Meghalaya (a further Dhaka police account; not confirmed by Indian authorities)
- Statement of Md Aminul Islam under section 164 (as reported; the recorded statement is not held)
- News On AIR (All India Radio), news report [27] (on the route through the Meghalaya border only; not on the timing or help)
- The Sentinel (Assam), news report [29] (on the route through the Meghalaya border only, as reported)
Records that refute it
- Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police response (the denial by India’s Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police)
Why it remains open: no court has ruled on it, and the archive holds none of the originals on either side.
What the archive does not hold
Every record the archive knows of but does not hold, by the reason it is not held. “Not acquired” means only that: it says nothing about whether a record still exists.
Not publicly available — not released in any report held · 4
Not acquired by this archive · 26
- Case statement filed at Paltan Model Police Station
- Order adding section 302 of the Penal Code
- Charge sheet against 17 accused
- Naraji petition against the charge sheet
- Order for further investigation by the CID
- Order refusing bail to Saheda Parveen
- Confessional statement of Saheda Parveen
- Statement of Md Aminul Islam under section 164
- Confessional statement of Rubel Ahmed
- Investigation sources’ account of how the weapons were moved
- Dhaka police on the source of their border account
- Reported confessions during interrogation in India
- Video presented as a denial by Foysal Karim Masud
- Foysal Karim Masud’s denial at a court in West Bengal
- RAB statement on the recovery of the firearms
- Law adviser’s post on trial under the Speedy Trial Tribunal Act
- Bangladesh Police: “no confirmation that he has fled abroad”
- Dhaka police account of the suspects’ crossing into Meghalaya
- Dhaka police account of detentions in Meghalaya
- Border Security Force and Meghalaya Police response
- Detective Branch briefing on the charge sheet
- West Bengal Police press release on the arrests at Bongaon
- Dhaka police on learning of the arrests in India
- Bangladesh Police on seeking the two men’s handover
- Custody extension by a special NIA court in India, as reported
- Bangladesh foreign ministry on the agreed return of the two men
Physical item — recorded from reports only · 4
Also not held
- No archived captures
- The published sources below are linked at their original addresses. No archived copy or capture has been made of any of them yet, so a source that disappears from the web would need to be recaptured or replaced, with the change recorded.
- No photographs, video or audio
- The archive holds no photograph, video or audio recording connected to the case with a documented source and permission, so none is shown, and no still or preview is made from any.
- No medical or post-mortem record
- The archive holds no medical or post-mortem record, and none is cited in the reports held. Hadi’s treatment and death are recorded from reports and from the official announcement of his death.
Provenance and authenticity
Whether a copy is genuine, whether a claim is true and whether a stored file has changed are three different questions. The archive answers each separately.
- Authenticity
- Whether a copy is what it claims to be. The R1 states are: unverified, official publication online, certified copy, and copy checked by the project. A document is never called official because it looks official.
- Verification
- Whether a claim is true — verified, reported, alleged, disputed and so on. It is a property of the claim, not of the copy: an authentic police statement can contain an allegation that is unproven.
- Integrity
- Whether a stored copy has changed since it was captured. A content hash shows only that; it does not show that the original was genuine or that its contents are true. The archive stores no files yet, so no hash is shown.
- Capture and custody
- The archive’s own record of when and how it captured a copy is not the official chain of custody of evidence held by investigators or a court. No chain of custody of any exhibit has been published, and none is described here.
The catalogue by authenticity
- Official publication online
- 1
- Certified copy
- None
- Copy checked by the project
- None
- Unverified copy
- None
- No copy held or linked
- 34
The earlier records, reconciled
The site’s earlier case-progress data described evidence that is not all supported by the reports checked for this archive. Each earlier entry is accounted for here; nothing from it is used unless a checked report gives it.
Two foreign-made pistols and 52 rounds of ammunition
evidence.weaponsRecovered
The checked report gives two pistols, two magazines, a toy pistol and 41 rounds. The figure of 52 is not supported by any report held and is not used. The link to the shooting is recorded as alleged. [10]
Now: Two pistols, magazines, a toy pistol and ammunition recovered in Narsingdi
A motorcycle “used in the attack”, described as seized
evidence.vehicleSeized
The checked report says RAB arrested the owner of the motorcycle; no report held says the motorcycle was seized or examined, so the seizure is not stated. [12]
Signed cheques, with a total value and a number of bank accounts
evidence.financialEvidence
No report checked for this record gives an amount or a number of accounts, so neither is published. RAB’s report that cheque books were recovered is recorded; nothing connects them to the attack. [13]
Now: Cheque books recovered from the three people detained on 14 December 2025
How the weapons passed between relatives and a friend after the attack, stated as fact
evidence.weaponMovement
Kept only as investigation sources described it, attributed to them as an account of interrogation; it is not stated as established. [11]
Now: Investigation sources’ account of how the weapons were moved
A count of confessional statements recorded
arrests.confessionalStatements
No report held gives a total. Each statement is catalogued separately where a checked report records it.
Three people recorded as giving statements under section 164 on 25 December 2025
arrests.notable[].status
A checked report gives 24 December 2025 for Saheda Parveen’s statement. No report held records statements by the other two on that day, so none is catalogued for them, and they are not named. [7]
The suspect’s father recorded as having confessed to helping his son escape
arrests.notable[].status
No report checked for this record says so. The arrest of the suspect’s parents is in the custody record; no statement by either is catalogued. [38]
Document archive: sources and method
1 official publication and 37 published reports, in the order the page first cites them. A source’s tier describes who published it, not whether a claim in it is true.
- 1CID’s further probe report into Hadi murder case on 9 Feb
The Business Standard · 3 February 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: A case is filed at Paltan Model Police Station; Supports: The court adds the charge of murder; Supports: The court orders further investigation by the CID
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 2Osman Hadi murder: Court defers submission of supplementary report to 3 November
The Business Standard · 27 September 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: A case is filed at Paltan Model Police Station; Supports: The Detective Branch submits a charge sheet against 17 accused
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 3Court orders to add section 302 of Penal Code to Hadi murder case
BSS · 21 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bssnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: The court adds the charge of murder
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 4Cognizance hearing on Hadi murder charge-sheet on Jan 15
BSS · 12 January 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bssnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: The Detective Branch submits a charge sheet against 17 accused
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 5Court sets 27 Sept for further probe report in Hadi murder case
The Business Standard · 20 August 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: The complainant objects to the charge sheet
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 6Further probe report into Hadi murder case on Feb 15
BSS · 9 February 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bssnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: The complainant objects to the charge sheet
↩ First cited in “Key records” - 7Hadi murder: HC refuses bail to key accused Faisal’s wife
The Business Standard · 26 July 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Court and case documents” - 8Govt announces Tk50 lakh bounty for information leading to arrest of Hadi attack suspect
The Business Standard · 13 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 9Pallabi Jubo League ex-president Bappi ordered Hadi murder; chargesheet filed against 17: DB
The Business Standard · 6 January 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 10RAB seizes firearms used in shooting of Osman Hadi from Narsingdi, one arrested
BSS · 17 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bssnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 11Osman Hadi murder: Weapon passed three hands, ends up in Narsingdi
Prothom Alo English · 18 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · en.prothomalo.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 12Faisal only named suspect in Hadi shooting case
bdnews24.com · 15 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bdnews24.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 13Hadi shooting: Prime suspect’s wife, brother-in-law and friend detained
The Business Standard · 14 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 14Osman Hadi shooting: Prime suspect’s wife, brother-in-law, and friend sent on 5-day remand
The Business Standard · 15 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Evidence investigators described” - 15Hadi murder: Aminul confesses to helping shooter Faisal flee to India
The Business Standard · 29 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Statements and denials” - 16Hadi murder: Faisal’s close associate Rubel confesses
The Business Standard · 1 February 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Statements and denials” - 17DMP clarifies claim over detention of Hadi murder accomplices in Meghalaya amid Indian denial
The Business Standard · 29 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Statements and denials” - 18Osman Hadi murder: Faisal Karim denies involvement
Prothom Alo English · 22 March 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · en.prothomalo.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Statements and denials” - 19Prime accused Masud denies role in Bangladeshi student leader Hadi’s murder
The Federal · 31 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · thefederal.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Statements and denials” - 20MFA Spokesperson’s Comments on the Death of Mr Sharif Osman Hadi, 18 December 2025
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore · 18 December 2025 · English · Official statement · Tier B · primary institutional · mfa.gov.sg
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Official statements” - 21Hadi murder trial under Speedy Trial Tribunal: Asif Nazrul
The Business Standard · 22 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Official statements” - 22No specific information that Hadi murder suspect has left country: Bangladesh Police
News On AIR (All India Radio) · 21 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · newsonair.gov.in
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 23DMP claims Hadi murder suspects fled to India; Meghalaya police, BSF deny
Dhaka Tribune · 28 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · dhakatribune.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 24Did Hadi killers enter India? BSF, Meghalaya Police respond to Bangladesh’s claim
The Week · 29 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · theweek.in
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 25Osman Hadi murder: Two including prime accused Faisal arrested in India
Prothom Alo English · 8 March 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · en.prothomalo.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 26Key suspect in Hadi murder finally held in India
bdnews24.com · 9 March 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bdnews24.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 27Two Bangladeshi criminals arrested by WB Special Task Force
News On AIR (All India Radio) · 8 March 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · newsonair.gov.in
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 28Cops working with India to extradite duo over killing of activist
The Star (Malaysia) · 11 March 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · thestar.com.my
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 29NIA gets 9 days further custody of 2 Bangladeshi, accused in Hadi’s killing
The Sentinel (Assam) · 5 April 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · sentinelassam.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Police say two suspects crossed into India; Indian authorities deny it
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 30India agrees to return suspected killers of Hadi: govt
New Age · 9 April 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · newagebd.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “Across the border” - 31Who was Bangladeshi Radical Leader, Sharif Osman Hadi?
Deccan Chronicle · Date not stated · English · News profile · Tier C · independent reporting · deccanchronicle.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 32Hadi ‘received death threats from foreign numbers’
bdnews24.com · 12 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bdnews24.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 33Who was Sharif Osman Hadi; why is Bangladesh on fire over his death?
Al Jazeera · 19 December 2025 · English · News profile · Tier C · independent reporting · aljazeera.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Shot while campaigning in Dhaka-8
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 34Bangladesh holds state funeral for slain youth leader amid tight security
Reuters · 20 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · reuters.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: Dies at Singapore General Hospital
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 35Hadi murder probe report deferred for 6th time
Dhaka Tribune · 9 February 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · dhakatribune.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Supports: The court orders further investigation by the CID
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 36Plaintiff files no-confidence petition against DB chargesheet in Osman Hadi murder case
The Business Standard · 15 January 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · tbsnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
Contextualizes: The court orders further investigation by the CID
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 37Hadi killing case: Weapons shop owner remanded for 3 days
Dhaka Tribune · 15 April 2026 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · dhakatribune.com
Original address only · no archived copy held
Contextualizes: RAB and the police say the pistols recovered in Narsingdi were used in the shooting.
↩ First cited in “Claims and their evidence” - 38RAB arrests parents of prime suspect Faisal in Hadi attack
BSS · 17 December 2025 · English · News report · Tier C · independent reporting · bssnews.net
Original address only · no archived copy held
↩ First cited in “The earlier records”
How the archive works
- How sources are captured
- Each source is read at its original address and checked on the review date. A capture, with its date, method and a content hash, is required before any copy is published; none is held yet.
- How authenticity is assessed
- A copy is classed by the R1 authenticity states. A court or police document is classed only once a copy has been obtained lawfully and checked; a report of a document is never treated as the document.
- How evidence relates to claims
- Each link between a record and a claim uses one of the five R1 relationships, with a note of its scope. A document or physical item the archive has not acquired can originate, mention or contextualize a claim, never support or refute it. A statement known only from a report may support or refute a claim as reported, and its note says so.
- How disputed evidence is handled
- Where records conflict, each side is shown with its source and date, side by side, and neither is preferred. A claim stays disputed until a record resolves it.
- How corrections work
- Corrections are made openly: an earlier figure or description that a checked report does not support is shown as corrected or not published, with the reason, never silently replaced.
- How privacy and rights affect publication
- Only public records are shown or counted. Nothing is reproduced: reports are linked, and a document will be published only when it has been obtained lawfully, its rights are clear and private details have been redacted.
Not published, and why
- Nothing is held or reproduced
- The archive holds no court document, police document, forensic report, footage or photograph. Every record below is catalogued from published reports, or linked at its official address; none is reproduced, and no preview, still or mock-up is made of any.
- Witnesses and private details
- Witnesses are not named. No addresses, phone numbers, identity numbers, bank details, messages, medical details or exact locations of anyone are published, even where a report gives them.
- Restricted material
- Only records cleared for public view are shown, and only they are counted. Nothing about a restricted record, including its title, is published.
- Not published: claims of wider responsibility
- Statements suggesting that other people or parties were responsible for the attack are not catalogued as evidence: none was made by an investigating agency in the reports held, and none came with evidence.
- Social media
- Posts and reposts are not catalogued as evidence unless the account is authenticated and a report establishes what was posted. The law adviser’s post and the video presented as a denial are catalogued from reports; neither is reproduced.
Archive last reviewed . Anyone with a document, a correction or a right of reply can ask for a record to be reviewed: see corrections and right of reply and the research methodology.
Continue the record
Investigation
How the police and the CID have investigated the case.
Court proceedings
What the courts have done: each hearing, filing and order.
Accused & case actors
The people and institutions in the case, with dated legal status.