People and institutions in the Hadi murder case
A sourced record of the people, organisations and legal roles connected to the case: who each is, what role they have, and where each person stands in the case now — with the date and the source of every status.
Where the people in the case stand
Of the people named on this page, 3 are charged in the police charge sheet; 2 were last reported held in India, in separate proceedings. No one is on trial, and no one has been convicted.
- Further investigation by the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), ordered by the court.
- Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Bangladesh Police
- 6 named on this page. Most of the accused in the charge sheet are not named in the reports held.
- Not begun. No charges have been framed and no trial is on the record.
- None. No court has found anyone guilty or not guilty.
How this page records legal status
Legal status changes over time. A person named in a complaint is not the same as a person charged, tried or convicted, and a person arrested months ago may since have been released or bailed. This page records each status as a dated record, with its source, and shows the latest supported status beside the history of how it changed.
Each person’s status is kept on two tracks, because they change independently: their standing in the case — named in the complaint, charged, on trial, and only after a trial convicted or acquitted — and their custody — wanted, arrested, detained, released or on bail. A status always belongs to one case. The proceedings in India against two of the accused are a separate case, and their statuses there are never counted as statuses in the Hadi murder case.
What investigators say a person did is not a status. It is shown separately, as an alleged role, with who alleges it and when. Organisational affiliations are shown only as the description of whoever gives them.
Being named in a complaint, arrested, detained or charged is not a finding of guilt. Only a court can decide guilt, by a judgment at the end of a trial. No trial has begun in this case, and no court has found anyone guilty or not guilty.
A status is current only as of the latest report that supports it, which is shown beside it. Where no later report has been checked, the page says so rather than assuming the status still holds or has changed.
Roles in the case
Grouped by procedural role. Within a group, people and institutions appear in the order of the record, not by importance.
The victim and the complainant
Victim
Sharif Osman bin Hadi
Shot in Dhaka on 12 December 2025 [1, 2]; he died on 18 December 2025 at Singapore General Hospital. [3, 4]
Complainant and counsel
Abdullah Al Jaber
Member secretary of Inqilab Moncho. He filed the case on 14 December 2025 and, on 15 January 2026, the petition objecting to the charge sheet. [5, 6]
Mustafizur Rahman Mukul
Lawyer for the complainant. At the hearing on 15 January 2026 he argued the complainant’s objection to the charge sheet. [7]
Accused people named in the reports
The Detective Branch’s charge sheet of 6 January 2026 names 17 people as accused, according to the reports of it. [8, 9] The project does not hold the charge sheet. The people below are those the reports name as accused; two others are described in the reports as the parents of Foysal Karim Masud and are not named here, and the remaining accused are not named in any report held. [8]
Foysal Karim Masud
- Also written Faisal Karim Masud: The spelling of other reports [10, 11]
- Also written Daud Khan: A name he is also known by, according to police sources [12]
Named in the charge sheet; police describe him as the alleged shooter. That is the police account, not a finding. [8, 9]
Wanted — since ; last reported · After police sources said he had been identified as the suspect, the Home Affairs Adviser announced a reward of Tk 50 lakh for information leading to his arrest. [12] The CID chief said Bangladesh was waiting for India to hand over the accused. [15]
Detained — since ; last reported · A court in West Bengal sent him to judicial custody. [17] A special NIA court extended the National Investigation Agency’s custody of the two men by nine days. [18]
A separate case. It is not a status in the Hadi murder case.- Fired the shots — according to the Detective Branch, . Its chief, Additional Commissioner Md Shafiqul Islam, said at the charge-sheet briefing that Foysal Karim Masud fired the shots. [13] Not a finding.
- · Denial — A video presented as a message from Foysal Karim Masud. In a video that circulated online, a man presented as Foysal Karim Masud denied any involvement and said he had been in Dubai. The Federal reported that it could not verify the video. [19] Unverified: the video’s authenticity has not been established by any source held. In the investigation record
- · Denial — Foysal Karim Masud, at a court in West Bengal. Asked by journalists about the killing, he said: “I did not do this. I was not involved in such acts.” [17] Reported: published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record. In the investigation record
- · Account of interrogation — Indian authorities, as reported by Prothom Alo. Were reported to have said that both men confessed during interrogation in India. [17] Reported: published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record. In the investigation record
- – · Arrested outside Bangladesh · custody record
- · Held in custody outside Bangladesh · custody record
Status history (5)
· Wanted · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
After police sources said he had been identified as the suspect, the Home Affairs Adviser announced a reward of Tk 50 lakh for information leading to his arrest. [12]
· Named in the complaint · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
The only suspect named in the case as filed, as reported. [16]
· Charged · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
One of 17 accused in the charge sheet submitted by the Detective Branch. [8, 9]
· Arrested · Proceedings in India
Arrested with Alamgir Hossain near the border at Bongaon, West Bengal, by the Special Task Force of West Bengal Police on the night of 7 March, according to its press release as reported; other reports give 8 March. [10, 17]
· Detained · Proceedings in India
A court in West Bengal sent him to judicial custody. [17]
Alamgir Hossain
- Also written Alamgir Sheikh: The name the Detective Branch gave at its briefing [13]
Named by the Detective Branch as one of the accused; it says he rode the motorcycle. That is the police account, not a finding. [13]
Charged — since · Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”) — on record by ; last reported · The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13] The CID chief said Bangladesh was waiting for India to hand over the accused. [15]
Detained — on record by · A special NIA court extended the National Investigation Agency’s custody of the two men by nine days. [18]
A separate case. It is not a status in the Hadi murder case.- Rode the motorcycle — according to the Detective Branch, . According to the Detective Branch, the motorcycle was ridden by Alamgir, whom it named Alamgir Sheikh. [13] Not a finding.
- Dhaka police accounts name the man they say rode the motorcycle Alamgir Sheikh; accounts of the arrest in India name Alamgir Hossain. [13, 10] Reports in both countries treat them as one man, one of the two accused Bangladesh seeks from India. [18, 21] No document held confirms the identity.
- · Account of interrogation — Indian authorities, as reported by Prothom Alo. Were reported to have said that both men confessed during interrogation in India. [17] Reported: published by the reports cited; not yet checked against a primary record. In the investigation record
- – · Arrested outside Bangladesh · custody record
- · Held in custody outside Bangladesh · custody record
Status history (4)
· Charged · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
· Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”) · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
On record by this date, not its start. The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13]
· Arrested · Proceedings in India
Arrested with Foysal Karim Masud near the border at Bongaon, West Bengal, by the Special Task Force of West Bengal Police, according to its press release as reported; other reports give 8 March. [10, 17]
· Detained · Proceedings in India
On record by this date, not its start. A special NIA court extended the National Investigation Agency’s custody of the two men by nine days. [18]
Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi
Named by the Detective Branch as one of the accused; it says he ordered the killing. That is the police account, not a finding. [13]
Charged — since · Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”) — on record by · The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13]
- Ordered the killing — according to the Detective Branch, . Its chief said at the charge-sheet briefing that he ordered the killing, and gave the motive as political vendetta. [13] Not a finding.
- Described differently by different sources, none verified. Who describes it, and how
Status history (2)
· Charged · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
· Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”) · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
On record by this date, not its start. The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13]
An alleged role is what the police say a person did. A legal status is where the person stands in the case. They are recorded apart: a person can be charged on the strength of an allegation that no court has yet tested.
Others arrested or held in the investigation
Investigators detained and arrested other people during the investigation. Those the reports name, and whom investigators placed at the centre of the case, are listed with their statuses. Others are described only by their relationship to the case, as the investigation record describes them. The reports say the charge sheet names the two people described as the parents of Foysal Karim Masud; [8] they do not say whether any of the others below is among the accused.
Saheda Parveen
- Also written Saheda Parveen Samia: The name in the report of her detention [22]
Reported to be the wife of Foysal Karim Masud. [23] A RAB director said she was detained “on suspicion of maintaining contact with the prime suspect”. [22]
- Not stated in the reports held. They do not say whether this person is among the accused in the charge sheet.
Detained — since ; last reported · The court remanded her, with the two people detained with her, to police custody for questioning. [24] In custody when a High Court bench of Justice Md Khairul Alam and Justice AKM Rabiul Hasan refused her bail. [23]
- · Detained · custody record
- · Remanded for questioning · custody record
- · Confessional statement recorded · custody record
- · Bail refused · custody record
- · Remand order · court register
- · Bail order · court register
Status history (2)
· Arrested · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Detained by RAB and handed to Paltan police, a RAB director said. [22] The Business Standard later reported that she was arrested that day. [23]
· Detained · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
The court remanded her, with the two people detained with her, to police custody for questioning. [24]
Md Aminul Islam
- Also written Raju: An alias given in the report [25]
Arrested in the investigation; a magistrate recorded his statement on 29 December 2025. [25]
- Not stated in the reports held. They do not say whether this person is among the accused in the charge sheet.
Detained — since · Remanded for five days. [25]
- Helped Foysal Karim Masud leave for India — according to his own statement recorded by a magistrate, as reported, . He said, as reported, that he had helped Foysal Karim Masud flee to India through the Haluaghat border in Mymensingh. [25] Not a finding.
- · Confessional statement recorded · custody record
- · Remand order · court register
Rubel Ahmed
Described by The Business Standard as a close associate of Foysal Karim Masud. A magistrate recorded his statement on 31 January 2026. [11]
- Not stated in the reports held. They do not say whether this person is among the accused in the charge sheet.
Detained — since · Remanded for questioning; further remand followed on 28 January, nine days in all. [11]
- · Confessional statement recorded · custody record
- · Remand order · court register
- · Remand order · court register
Status history (2)
· Arrested · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
On record by this date, not its start. In custody by 22 January 2026, when the court granted his remand. The report does not say which agency arrested him, or when. [11]
· Detained · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Remanded for questioning; further remand followed on 28 January, nine days in all. [11]
| Date | Who | What happened |
|---|---|---|
| Who: The suspect’s wife, her brother and a friend of the suspect | Detained · RABSaheda Parveen Samia, the wife of the man police named as the suspect, her brother and a friend were detained in Narayanganj and Dhaka “on suspicion of maintaining contact with the prime suspect” before and after the shooting, a RAB director said, and handed to Paltan police. [22, 24] Custody record | |
| Date not confirmed | Who: The owner of a motorcycle | Arrested · RABbdnews24 reported on 15 December that RAB had arrested the owner of the motorcycle used in the shooting and that he had been remanded. The report does not give the date of the arrest or say how the motorcycle was linked to the attack. [16] Custody record |
| Who: A man in Narsingdi with whom, investigation sources said, the weapons had been left | Arrested · RABArrested when RAB recovered the firearms. [26, 27] Custody record | |
| Who: The parents of the man police named as the suspect | Arrested · RAB-10Arrested in South Keraniganj and handed to the investigating officer, RAB said. [28] Custody record | |
| Who: The owner of an arms shop in Chattogram | Arrested · Detective Branch, with Chattogram police; remanded by the court on 15 AprilPolice sought his remand to question him about “the source and transfer of the weapon used in the killing”; the court granted three days of the seven sought. The CID is the investigating agency. [29] Custody record |
An arrest is being taken into custody. Detention is being held there — in police custody on remand, or in jail by order of a court. Remand is a court’s permission for investigators to hold and question a person for a set number of days. None of them is a finding of guilt.
Legal status now
The latest supported status of each person named on this page, on each track, with the date of the latest report. A person’s record sets out the basis and the sources.
| Person | Standing in this case | Custody in this case | Elsewhere |
|---|---|---|---|
| Foysal Karim Masud | Standing: Chargedsince | Custody: Wantedsince ; last reported | Elsewhere: Detainedsince ; last reported |
| Alamgir Hossain | Standing: Chargedsince | Custody: Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”)on record by ; last reported | Elsewhere: Detainedon record by |
| Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi | Standing: Chargedsince | Custody: Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”)on record by | Elsewhere: None on record |
| Saheda Parveen | Standing: Not stated in the reports held | Custody: Detainedsince ; last reported | Elsewhere: None on record |
| Md Aminul Islam | Standing: Not stated in the reports held | Custody: Detainedsince | Elsewhere: None on record |
| Rubel Ahmed | Standing: Not stated in the reports held | Custody: Detainedsince | Elsewhere: None on record |
“Elsewhere” is a separate case: proceedings in india. A status there is not a status in the Hadi murder case.
Counts as reported
Officials and reporters have given different numbers. Each is shown as it was given, on its date. A count of arrests made is not a count of people in custody now; no total is derived, and none is current.
- Dhaka Metropolitan Police, as reported by the Dhaka Tribune
- 11 people arrested in Bangladesh. [30]
- A prosecution sub-inspector, as reported by The Business Standard
- 11 people arrested, six of whom had given confessional statements. [25]
- The Detective Branch, at the charge-sheet briefing
- 17 accused: 12 arrested and 5 at large. [13]
- BSS
- Of the 17 accused, 11 in jail and 6 not arrested. [8]
- The Dhaka Tribune
- Six accused absconding, among them the two men held in India. [14]
Status changes on record
Every status record on this page, in date order. A record dated “on record by” is the first date a source gives, not the day the status began.
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Foysal Karim Masud: Wanted
After police sources said he had been identified as the suspect, the Home Affairs Adviser announced a reward of Tk 50 lakh for information leading to his arrest. [12]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Foysal Karim Masud: Named in the complaint
The only suspect named in the case as filed, as reported. [16]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Saheda Parveen: Arrested
Detained by RAB and handed to Paltan police, a RAB director said. [22] The Business Standard later reported that she was arrested that day. [23]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Saheda Parveen: Detained
The court remanded her, with the two people detained with her, to police custody for questioning. [24]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Md Aminul Islam: Arrested
Arrested in Mirpur, Dhaka. [25]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Md Aminul Islam: Detained
Remanded for five days. [25]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Foysal Karim Masud: Charged
One of 17 accused in the charge sheet submitted by the Detective Branch. [8, 9]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Alamgir Hossain: Charged
Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi: Charged
Named as one of the accused by the Detective Branch, at its briefing on the charge sheet against 17 accused. [13]
· on record by this date · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Alamgir Hossain: Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”)
The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13]
· on record by this date · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi: Wanted (the source’s words: “at large”)
The Detective Branch said at its charge-sheet briefing that he was among five accused at large. [13]
· on record by this date · The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Rubel Ahmed: Arrested
In custody by 22 January 2026, when the court granted his remand. The report does not say which agency arrested him, or when. [11]
· The Hadi murder case, Bangladesh
Rubel Ahmed: Detained
Remanded for questioning; further remand followed on 28 January, nine days in all. [11]
· Proceedings in India
Foysal Karim Masud: Arrested
Arrested with Alamgir Hossain near the border at Bongaon, West Bengal, by the Special Task Force of West Bengal Police on the night of 7 March, according to its press release as reported; other reports give 8 March. [10, 17]
· Proceedings in India
Alamgir Hossain: Arrested
Arrested with Foysal Karim Masud near the border at Bongaon, West Bengal, by the Special Task Force of West Bengal Police, according to its press release as reported; other reports give 8 March. [10, 17]
· Proceedings in India
Foysal Karim Masud: Detained
A court in West Bengal sent him to judicial custody. [17]
· on record by this date · Proceedings in India
Alamgir Hossain: Detained
A special NIA court extended the National Investigation Agency’s custody of the two men by nine days. [18]
Investigating agencies and officers
In the order they acted. No transfer between agencies is inferred: where the reports do not say when an agency took the case, its record says so.
Agencies in Bangladesh
Paltan Model Police Station, Dhaka Metropolitan Police
The shooting took place in its jurisdiction, and the case was filed there on 14 December 2025 by Abdullah Al Jaber, member secretary of Inqilab Moncho, with the consent of Hadi’s family, as reported. [5, 16]
- 12–14 December 2025
Rapid Action Battalion (RAB)
Detained and arrested people close to the suspect police had named, and recovered firearms in Narsingdi, handing those it held to the police. A RAB director said the investigation itself would be carried out by the police. [22, 26, 28]
- 14–16 December 2025
Detective Branch (DB), Dhaka Metropolitan Police
Its inspector, Foysal Ahmed, was the investigating officer who sought the remand of the first people detained on 15 December 2025, [24] and who submitted the charge sheet on 6 January 2026. [8] The reports held do not say when the case passed to the Detective Branch.
- By 15 December 2025 – 6 January 2026
Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Bangladesh Police
Given the further investigation by the court after the complainant’s objection. [5, 31] By April 2026 the investigating officer was Assistant Superintendent Abdur Qadir Bhuiyan of CID Dhaka Metro (East); other reports spell his name Abdul Quader Bhuiyan. [29]
- From 15 January 2026
Investigating officers
Courts
Courts are institutions, recorded by what they did. Magistrates and judges are named only as the public record names them at an action.
Court of the Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka
Receives the charge sheet and the further-investigation report. Magistrates Jashita Islam and Sefatullah have presided at the hearings reported. [8, 5, 9]
- 17 · to
- Jashita Islam; Sefatullah
Court of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate, Dhaka
Metropolitan Magistrate Siddiq Azad ordered on 20 December 2025 that the charge of murder be added. [32]
- 1 · to
- Metropolitan Magistrate Siddiq Azad
High Court Division, Supreme Court of Bangladesh
Refused bail to Saheda Parveen on 26 July 2026. [23]
- 1 · to
- Justice Md Khairul Alam and Justice AKM Rabiul Hasan
- None on record. The law adviser said on 22 December 2025 that the trial would be held under the Speedy Trial Tribunal Act, 2002 [33]; the reports held do not record that the case has been sent to a tribunal.
- No prosecutor, and no defence lawyer for any accused, is named in the reports held.
Government
Only offices and officials with a part in the case process. Politicians who commented on the case are not listed.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bangladesh
Said on 8 April 2026 that Bangladesh and India had agreed the two men held in India would be returned under the extradition treaty; India’s statement on the meeting, as reported, did not address their return. [21]
Asif Nazrul
Law adviser to the interim government. He said on 22 December 2025 that the trial would be held under the Speedy Trial Tribunal Act, 2002. [33]
Jahangir Alam Chowdhury
Home Affairs Adviser to the interim government. On 13 December 2025 he announced a reward of Tk 50 lakh for information leading to the arrest of the suspect police had named. [12]
Authorities outside Bangladesh
Recorded by their official role in the record — an arrest, custody, a denial. Involvement is not evidence of any state’s part in the attack.
Special Task Force, West Bengal Police (India)
Arrested Foysal Karim Masud and Alamgir Hossain near the border at Bongaon, West Bengal, according to its press release as reported. [10, 34]
- March 2026
National Investigation Agency (NIA), India
The Sentinel reported on 5 April 2026 that a special NIA court extended the agency’s custody of the two men, who had been brought to New Delhi. [18] The reports held do not set out the Indian case’s charges in full; Prothom Alo reported in March that they were held on charges of illegal entry. [17]
- From March 2026
Dhaka Metropolitan Police
An additional commissioner said the suspects had escaped to India and gave a timeline of the crossing. The next day the police said the information came from confessional statements of people arrested and from sources in border areas. [36]
Foysal Karim Masud and Alamgir Hossain were arrested in West Bengal in March 2026. A court in West Bengal sent Foysal Karim Masud to judicial custody on 22 March, and on 5 April a special NIA court in India extended the National Investigation Agency’s custody of the two men by nine days. [10, 17, 18] These are proceedings in India, separate from the case in Bangladesh, and are not entered in its register.
Bangladesh said in April 2026 that both governments had agreed to the two men’s return under the extradition treaty; in July the CID chief said Bangladesh was still waiting for India to hand them over. [21, 15] No extradition proceeding before a court, in either country, is recorded in the reports held.
Disputed roles, affiliations and responses
What is alleged, who alleges it, and what has been said in reply. Nothing here is a finding; the allegations remain allegations.
Affiliations
- Verified organisational role
- None on record.
- Described by police
the Detective Branch, : Its chief described him as a former president of the Pallabi Thana Jubo League. [13]
- Reported by the media
the Dhaka Tribune, : Described him as a former ward councillor of Dhaka North City Corporation. [14]
- Described by a party to the case
the complainant’s lawyer, Mustafizur Rahman Mukul, : Called it “laughable” that the charge sheet named only one Awami League ward councillor. [7]
- Response
- No response from the person, or from any organisation named, is recorded in the reports held.
Allegations and denials
Foysal Karim Masud
Fired the shots — according to the Detective Branch, . Its chief, Additional Commissioner Md Shafiqul Islam, said at the charge-sheet briefing that Foysal Karim Masud fired the shots. [13]
· Unverified — A video presented as a message from Foysal Karim Masud. In a video that circulated online, a man presented as Foysal Karim Masud denied any involvement and said he had been in Dubai. The Federal reported that it could not verify the video. [19]
· Reported — Foysal Karim Masud, at a court in West Bengal. Asked by journalists about the killing, he said: “I did not do this. I was not involved in such acts.” [17]
The border crossing
Said at a press conference at the Ministry of Home Affairs: “We do not have specific information about his last location, but there is no confirmation that he has fled abroad.” [35]
An additional commissioner said the suspects had escaped to India and gave a timeline of the crossing. The next day the police said the information came from confessional statements of people arrested and from sources in border areas. [36]
Names and identities
- Alamgir Hossain: Dhaka police accounts name the man they say rode the motorcycle Alamgir Sheikh; accounts of the arrest in India name Alamgir Hossain. [13, 10] Reports in both countries treat them as one man, one of the two accused Bangladesh seeks from India. [18, 21] No document held confirms the identity.
Legal status terms
The words this page uses for legal status, in plain terms, and who among the people named here holds each one in the Hadi murder case now.
- Named in the complaint
- Named in the complaint or case statement with which the case was filed. It records whom the complainant suspected; it is not an accusation by the police or a court.
- None on record.
- Accused
- Treated as an accused person in the case by the investigating agency or the court. It is an allegation, not a finding.
- None on record.
- Charged
- Named as an accused in the police charge sheet submitted to the court. It is the police’s accusation. It is not the court’s framing of charges, which comes later, before a trial, and has not happened in this case.
- Foysal Karim Masud, Alamgir Hossain, Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi
- On trial
- The court has framed charges and the trial has begun. Being charged in a charge sheet does not mean a trial has begun.
- None on record.
- Convicted
- Found guilty by a court in a judgment at the end of a trial. Until then, every accused person is presumed innocent. An appeal may follow.
- None on record.
- Acquitted
- Found not guilty by a court in a judgment at the end of a trial.
- None on record.
- Discharged
- Released from the case by a court before trial, because it found no ground to proceed against the person.
- None on record.
- Case withdrawn
- The case against the person has been withdrawn with the court’s permission.
- None on record.
- Wanted
- Sought for arrest by the authorities in the case — where a reward is offered for information leading to an arrest, or police say an accused is at large. The source’s own word is shown beside it. A court’s warrant is recorded separately when one is on record.
- Foysal Karim Masud, Alamgir Hossain, Taijul Islam Chowdhury Bappi
- Arrested
- Taken into custody by the police or another law-enforcement agency. An arrest is not a charge and not a finding of guilt.
- None on record.
- Detained
- Held in custody while the case continues: in police custody on remand, or in jail by order of a court.
- Saheda Parveen, Md Aminul Islam, Rubel Ahmed
- On bail
- Released from custody by a court’s order, on conditions, while the case continues. Bail decides nothing about guilt or innocence and does not end the case.
- None on record.
- Released
- Let out of custody without bail.
- None on record.
- Unknown
- The sources held do not establish the person’s status. It is stated, never guessed.
- None on record.
Being named in a complaint, arrested, detained or charged is not a finding of guilt. Only a court can decide guilt, by a judgment at the end of a trial. No trial has begun in this case, and no court has found anyone guilty or not guilty.
Sources and method
- How the record is compiled
- Each police and court action is entered from a report of it, checked against the publication on the review date, and dated by when it happened rather than when it was reported. The same record drives this page and the timeline.
- How claims are classified
- Every fact carries how it is known: an official statement, a report, an allegation (with who makes it), or a dispute (with every side). “Court record” is reserved for facts checked against a court document the project holds; none is held yet. There are no scores or percentages.
- How court records are used
- A court record establishes what the court did — a filing, an order, a hearing — not the truth of the allegations before it. A scheduled date is shown as scheduled until a report of the day records what happened.
- How corrections work
- Corrections are made openly: the corrected fact is shown with a note of what was said before. Earlier records that could not be sourced are listed below as not published, with the reason.
Case record last reviewed . Anyone named on this page, or anyone with a document or a correction, can ask for a fact to be reviewed: see corrections and right of reply and the research methodology.
Sources
- 1Who was Bangladeshi Radical Leader, Sharif Osman Hadi?
Deccan Chronicle · News profile · deccanchronicle.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 2Hadi ‘received death threats from foreign numbers’
bdnews24.com · 12 December 2025 · News report · bdnews24.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 3MFA Spokesperson’s Comments on the Death of Mr Sharif Osman Hadi, 18 December 2025
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore · 18 December 2025 · Official statement · mfa.gov.sg
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 4Bangladesh holds state funeral for slain youth leader amid tight security
Reuters · 20 December 2025 · News report · reuters.com
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 5CID’s further probe report into Hadi murder case on 9 Feb
The Business Standard · 3 February 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 6Court sets 27 Sept for further probe report in Hadi murder case
The Business Standard · 20 August 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 7Plaintiff files no-confidence petition against DB chargesheet in Osman Hadi murder case
The Business Standard · 15 January 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Victim and complainant” - 8Cognizance hearing on Hadi murder charge-sheet on Jan 15
BSS · 12 January 2026 · News report · bssnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 9Osman Hadi murder: Court defers submission of supplementary report to 3 November
The Business Standard · 27 September 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 10Osman Hadi murder: Two including prime accused Faisal arrested in India
Prothom Alo English · 8 March 2026 · News report · en.prothomalo.com
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 11Hadi murder: Faisal’s close associate Rubel confesses
The Business Standard · 1 February 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 12Govt announces Tk50 lakh bounty for information leading to arrest of Hadi attack suspect
The Business Standard · 13 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 13Pallabi Jubo League ex-president Bappi ordered Hadi murder; chargesheet filed against 17: DB
The Business Standard · 6 January 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 14Fresh efforts underway to bring back three fugitives accused in Hadi murder case
Dhaka Tribune · 6 June 2026 · News report · dhakatribune.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 15Hadi murder: India yet to clear accused’s extradition
Dhaka Tribune · 6 July 2026 · News report · dhakatribune.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 16Faisal only named suspect in Hadi shooting case
bdnews24.com · 15 December 2025 · News report · bdnews24.com
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 17Osman Hadi murder: Faisal Karim denies involvement
Prothom Alo English · 22 March 2026 · News report · en.prothomalo.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 18NIA gets 9 days further custody of 2 Bangladeshi, accused in Hadi’s killing
The Sentinel (Assam) · 5 April 2026 · News report · sentinelassam.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 19Prime accused Masud denies role in Bangladeshi student leader Hadi’s murder
The Federal · 31 December 2025 · News report · thefederal.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 20Two Bangladeshi criminals arrested by WB Special Task Force
News On AIR (All India Radio) · 8 March 2026 · News report · newsonair.gov.in
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 21India agrees to return suspected killers of Hadi: govt
New Age · 9 April 2026 · News report · newagebd.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Accused named in the reports” - 22Hadi shooting: Prime suspect’s wife, brother-in-law and friend detained
The Business Standard · 14 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 23Hadi murder: HC refuses bail to key accused Faisal’s wife
The Business Standard · 26 July 2026 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 24Osman Hadi shooting: Prime suspect’s wife, brother-in-law, and friend sent on 5-day remand
The Business Standard · 15 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 25Hadi murder: Aminul confesses to helping shooter Faisal flee to India
The Business Standard · 29 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 26RAB seizes firearms used in shooting of Osman Hadi from Narsingdi, one arrested
BSS · 17 December 2025 · News report · bssnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 27Osman Hadi murder: Weapon passed three hands, ends up in Narsingdi
Prothom Alo English · 18 December 2025 · News report · en.prothomalo.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 28RAB arrests parents of prime suspect Faisal in Hadi attack
BSS · 17 December 2025 · News report · bssnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 29Hadi killing case: Weapons shop owner remanded for 3 days
Dhaka Tribune · 15 April 2026 · News report · dhakatribune.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Others arrested or held” - 30DMP claims Hadi murder suspects fled to India; Meghalaya police, BSF deny
Dhaka Tribune · 28 December 2025 · News report · dhakatribune.com
News archive record and context
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Legal status now” - 31Hadi murder probe report deferred for 6th time
Dhaka Tribune · 9 February 2026 · News report · dhakatribune.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Investigators” - 32Court orders to add section 302 of Penal Code to Hadi murder case
BSS · 21 December 2025 · News report · bssnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Courts” - 33Hadi murder trial under Speedy Trial Tribunal: Asif Nazrul
The Business Standard · 22 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Courts” - 34Key suspect in Hadi murder finally held in India
bdnews24.com · 9 March 2026 · News report · bdnews24.com
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Outside Bangladesh” - 35No specific information that Hadi murder suspect has left country: Bangladesh Police
News On AIR (All India Radio) · 21 December 2025 · News report · newsonair.gov.in
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Outside Bangladesh” - 36DMP clarifies claim over detention of Hadi murder accomplices in Meghalaya amid Indian denial
The Business Standard · 29 December 2025 · News report · tbsnews.net
Source catalogue record and provenance
↩ First cited in “Outside Bangladesh”
Not published, conflicts and gaps
- No case documents are held
- Every status on this page rests on news reports of what police, officials and courts said or did. The project holds no complaint, charge sheet, warrant, remand or bail order, so no status is classed as a court record. A status will be checked against its document when one is obtained.
- Who is named, and who is not
- People whom investigators placed at the centre of the case are named as the reports name them. Others — among them the two people described as the parents of Foysal Karim Masud, relatives and acquaintances who were detained, and a shop owner — are described only by their relationship to the case. The 77 witnesses listed in the charge sheet are not named, and no eyewitness is identified. No prosecutor or defence counsel for any accused is named in the reports held, so neither group appears.
- Not published: earlier status and affiliation records
- The site’s earlier case-progress records gave statuses (“at large”), party affiliations, criminal histories and the names and ages of relatives for some people, without sources, and an arrest total. None of it is used. Affiliations appear here only as described by a named source, with the date, and statuses only from dated reports.
- Conflicts between reports
- A BSS report of 17 December 2025 said Foysal Karim Masud had been arrested on 16 December; it appears to confuse him with a man of a similar name arrested in Narsingdi that day, and it is not used. A Dhaka Tribune report of 6 July 2026 called Alamgir Hossain the alleged shooter, contrary to the Detective Branch’s account; that description is not used. Reports give 7 or 8 March 2026 for the arrests in India. Arrest counts differ between sources and are shown as given, never reconciled.
- Names and spellings
- Reports spell names differently: Foysal or Faisal Karim Masud; Taijul or Taizul Islam Chowdhury Bappi; Alamgir Sheikh in Dhaka police accounts and Alamgir Hossain in Indian ones; Abdur Qadir or Abdul Quader Bhuiyan. Each person has one record with a stable identifier. Variants are listed with their sources where a source gives them; similar names are never merged on spelling alone.
- Not published: claims of wider responsibility
- Public statements by politicians and others, in Bangladesh and in India, that suggested other people, parties or governments were responsible are not repeated, and no one appears on this page because of them. None was made by an investigating agency in the reports held, and none came with evidence.
- Private details and photographs
- No addresses, phone numbers, identity numbers, bank details, family details beyond what explains a person’s place in the case, or locations finer than a district or area are published. There are no photographs of anyone: no portrait has a documented source and permission to publish.
Continue the record
Hadi murder case
The case record: its identity, legal provisions and procedural path.
Court proceedings
What the courts have done in the case, and what they have not decided.
Evidence & documents
The documents and evidence in the case, and how the project holds them.